Silk Road City Mayors’ Forum

Almaty Declaration
The Third Silk Road Mayors’ Forum

1. We, the participants of the 3rd Silk Road Mayors Forum from 15 countries and 25 cities gathered in Almaty, Kazakhstan on September 2-4, 2008 would like to express our support to the key Silk Road ideas that inspire us today and to the tradition of Silk Road events launched by the UNDP-supported Silk Road Initiative programme that integrates peoples and communities in the region and increasingly globalizing world. This discussion platform has brought together leaders and communities from the broad Silk Road region for the third time under the banner of the Mayors’ Forum and we declare our commitment to further continue this tradition. Silk Road Mayors Forum has become a unique and important platform for regional dialogue, information and experience exchange;

2. We are grateful to the local host – the Government of Kazakhstan, Ministry of Tourism and Sport and the city of Almaty who have worked hand in hand with the UNDP - for making this meeting possible. We are also grateful to other United Nations organizations, in particular the UN WTO and UNCTAD for providing valuable inputs to the Forum;

3. We would like to express our dedication to the “Silk Road Spirit” that embraces peaceful and fruitful coexistence, as its fundamental philosophy that is so much needed in contemporary times;

4. We would like to endorse again the motto of Silk Road Initiative in shaping a future built on the unique tradition of the Silk Road, which should always inspire us to promote cooperation and regional integration.

5. We strongly encourage cities and communities to develop further multilateral and bilateral ties and dialogue - exchange information, and experience. Best practices of Silk Road communities should be gathered and published;

6. The participants noted with pleasure the willingness and interest of other countries to join the Silk Road initiatives (namely Afghanistan, India, Iran, Pakistan) and fully support the broadening the scope of the programme to new countries. The participants commit to working with their respective governments to generate necessary political, institutional and financial support to the proposed imitative.

7. We express our strong support to studies of the region’s past and present - support to the regional contemporary map project, some other projects of this type should be discussed including preparation of a movie on old and new Silk Road cities and centers. In this regard, other countries on the Silk Road such as Tajikistan should also be included;

8. In all our activities, we should continue the unique regional approach; the Regional Silk Road Investment Guide – updated and completed – should be published, where attempt would be made to attract investment to the region as such and not only to individual countries.

9. We recognize importance of sustainable tourism development in general and eco-tourism in particular as a vehicle for regional economic development and for social advancement. We should commit to helping undertake activities that would bring us closer to modern standards and affordable packages of tourism services;

10. We express our support to further development of cultural hotels in the region; in particular the Chinese Silk Road cultural hotel model (with existing cases in e.g. Dunhuang and Suzhou), together with newly conceived educational and recreational facilities that would bring closer the Silk Road tradition to whole visiting families, should be adopted, promoted and disseminated in Central Asia and other countries in the broad region;

11. The barriers to tourism development should be further studied and a United Nations report on this issue prepared and published; a special importance should be attached to the abolishing of the visa barriers for traveling tourists. Efforts should be made and an Action Plan – adopted to introduce a regional Silk Road Tourist Visa. This calls for a high level, ministerial meeting to discuss political and major technical issues. The participants believe the time for deliberation is over and it is the time for a concerted action of countries in the region;

12. We should continue our support to all specific initiatives that teach respect to cultures different than our own and provide insights into history and culture of countries along the Silk Road. This is critically important aspect for facilitation of integration in the region and for bringing peoples from different countries closer together. We support the development of specific segment of an initiative, which refers to Southern Marine Silk Road of Red Sea. We welcome the initiative in this respect of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia.

13. The competition for the titles of UN New Silk Road Cities should be continued and finalized in cooperation with the UN WTO and UNDP;

14. The participants endorse the idea of extending the Silk Road programme to its 3rd phase. The project should cover cooperation among Government institutions, business structures, as well as citizen communities / NGOs, such as the World Citizens’ Network and the Silk Road Alliance, which already play an important role in programme’s implementation.

15. The participants acknowledge the signing of tripartite agreement between China, Kazakhstan and Russia as an important step towards integrating the Silk Road Transport and transit links.

16. We are reconfirming our support expressed in the Lanzhou declaration of last year to Voronezh’s initiative of coordinating the Russian component of the Silk Road and creating the adequate infrastructure including a Silk Road Center and business facilitates. The participants support a proposal of Voronezh to establish a consortium on volunteer basis to follow up with the proposals mentioned on the Forum. Also, the Union of Municipalities of Turk World proposed establishment of the Union of Silk Road Municipalities.

17. The participants supported the idea of establishing a research group for development of recommendations on vocational training of staff employed in the Silk Road tourism attractions.

18. We warmly welcome and highly value the initiative of the ROK and the city of Pyeongtaek to host next Mayors’ Forum in 2009. A progress report on main issues referred to in this Declaration should be submitted during the ROK meeting in Pyeongtaek next year. The participants emphasized the need to establish a monitoring mechanism to ensure the progress.

19. The Forum participants support a proposal from the Mayor of Shiraz to host the Silk Road initiative event in Iran in the near future.


 

Choose a region or a city:

Book a room

Book

City Guests
Check-in

Форум мэров городов

3й Форум Мэров Городов Шелкового Пути Алматинская Декларация

1. Мы, участники 3-го Форума Мэров городов Шелкового Пути из 23 стран собрались в г. Алматы 2-4 Сентября 2008 года, с целью выразить нашу поддержку основным идеям инициативы Шелкового Пути, которая вдохновляет нас сегодня и традиции проведения мероприятия Шелковый путь, Инициативой Шелковый Путь запущенной ПРООН, которая объединяет людей и общество в регионе в условиях возрастающей глобализации. Эта платформа для обсуждения объединила лидеров и сообщества из обширных регионов Шелкового Пути в третий раз под флагом Форума Мэров и мы выражаем свою приверженность идее и продолжении традиции. Форум Мэров Городов Шелкового Пути стал одним из важнейших средств для регионального диалога, информации и обмена опытом.

2. Мы благодарны принимающей стороне - Правительству Республики Казахстан, Министерству Туризма и Спорта, а также администрации города Алматы, которые усиленно работали здесь рука об руку с ПРООН в организации мероприятия. Мы также благодарны и другим организациям ООН, в особенности UNWTO и UNCTAD в обеспечении ценного вклада в Форум.

 


3. Мы бы хотели выразить свое признание «Духу Шелкового Пути», который призывает к мирному и плодотворному со-существованию как фундаментальной философии так необходимой в современном мире.

4. Мы бы хотели еще раз одобрить лозунг Инициативы Шелкового Пути в формировании будущего, построенного на уникальной традиции Шелкового пути, которая должна всегда вдохновлять нас на продвижение сотрудничества и региональную интеграцию.

5. Мы поддерживаем города и сообщества в целях развития дальнейших многосторонних и двусторонних связей и диалога для обмена информацией и опытом. Лучший опыт сообществ будет собран и опубликован.

6. Участники с удовольствием отметили готовность и интерес других стран присоединиться к Инициативе Шелкового пути (а именно, Афгснистан, Индия, Иран, Пакистан), и полностью поддерживают расширение рамок программы на новые страны. Участники обязуются работать с их правительствами для создания необходимой политической, институциональной и финансовой поддержки для предлогаемой инициативе.

7. Мы выражаем поддержку научным работам, посвященным изучению регионов, а также их прошлого и настоящего. Необходимо обсудить проект разработки региональных современных карт Шелкового Пути, а также подготовку фильма о Новых и древних городах Шелкового Пути. В этой связи, другие страны региона как Таджикистан должны быть также включены.

8. Во всех наших действиях мы должны продолжать уникальный региональный подход; следует опубликовать Региональный Инвестиционный Справочник Шелкового Пути - обновленный и законченный, в котором бы была попытка привлечь инвестиции в регион и не только в отдельные страны.


9. Мы признаем важность устойчивого развития туризма, в целом и в особенности, экотуризма, как средство регионального экономического развития и социального продвижения. Нам следует предпринять некоторые действия, которые бы приблизили нас к международным стандартам и доступному пакету туристического сервиса.

10. Мы выражаем нашу поддержку для дальнейшего развития отелей культурного отдыха в регионе, в особенности развития проекта по модели отелей Шелковый путь Китая (с существующими примерами в Дунгуанге и Шужоу), вместе с недавно возведенными образовательными и развлекательными центрами, которые бы приблизили традицию Шелкового Пути ко всем посещающим семьям, что следовало бы принять, продвинуть и распространить в Центральной Азии и других странах и регионах.

11. Барьеры в развитии туризма должны быть далее изучены и отчет ООН должен быть подготовлен и опубликован; особую важность представляет вопрос отмены визовых барьеров для путешествующих туристов. Усилия должны быть приложены и Плана Действий принят по введению Туристической Визы Шелкового Пути. Все это требует особых встреч на министерском уровне для обсуждения политических и основных технических вопросов. Участники считают, что время для обдумывания закончилось и необходимы конкретные действия со стороны стран и регионов.

12. Мы должны продолжить нашу поддержку всем особым инициативам, которые выражают уважение к культурам отличных от нашей и обеспечивают глубоким пониманием истории и культуры стран находящихся вдоль Шелкового Пути. Это очень важный аспект эффективного внедрения в интеграционные процессы региона и объединении людей из разных стран. Мы поддерживаем развитие особого сегмента инициативы, который относиться к отрезку Шелкового Пути на Красном море. В этой связи, мы приветствуем инициативу Королества Саудовской Аравии.
13. Конкуренция за статус Города Шелкового Пути ООН должна быть продолжена и закреплена сотрудничеством cо Всемирной Туристической Организацией ООН и ПРООН.

14. Участники поддерживают идею продолжения Программы Шелковый Путь до третьей фазы. Проект нацелен на сотрудничество между Правительственными Организациями, бизнес структурами, гражданскими сообществами/неправительственными организациями, такими как например Всемирная Гражданская Сеть и Альянс Шелковый Путь, который уже играет важную роль в вопросах внедрения программы.

15. Участники признают подписание трехстороннего соглашения между Китаем, Казахстаном и Россией важным шагом для интегрирования транспортных и транзитных связей Шелкового Пути.

16. Мы возобновляем нашу поддержку инициативе г. Воронежа, зафиксированной в декларации, принятой в г. Ланжоу в прошлом году, в части координации Российского компонента Шелкового Пути и создания адекватной инфраструктуры, включая центр Шелкового Пути. Участники Форума поддержали инициативу г. Воронежа по созданию консорциума на волонтерской основе для мониторинга инициатив озвученных на Форуме. Также, Союз Муниципалитетов Тюркского Мира предлагает создать Союз Муниципалитетов Шелкового Пути.

17. Участники Форума предложили создать научно-исследовательскую группу с целью разработки рекомендаций по обучению персонала для работы с туристкими объектами Шелкового Пути.

18. Мы приветствуем и высоко ценим инициативу Республики Корея и города Пьянтэк в принятии эстафеты и проведении следующего Форума Мэров в 2009 году. Отчет по основным вопросам относящихся к этой Декларации, следует пресдтавить в течение встречи в следующем году в г. Пьянтэк, Республика Корея. Участники Форума подчеркнули важность создания механизма по мониторингу прогресса.

19. Участники Форума поддержали инициативу мэра г. Шираз по проведению мероприятия Инициативы Шелковый Путь в Иране в ближайшем будущем.


 

Выберите регион или город:

Бронирование гостиниц

Бронирование

Город Гости
Заезд